Brian McPhee – On the Road Again: Small Gouache Studies in Your Sketchbook (Online)

Date: Mondays, June 3-17, 2024
Time: 10:30 AM-12:30 PM Pacific Time, 1:30-3:30 PM Eastern Time, 6:30-8:30 PM London Time
Level: All
Medium: Open to any water media (Brian will work in gouache)

A three week class, exploring composition, colour and value, with gouache. Brian McPhee has over forty years experience painting landscapes in Canada ,the U.S and Scotland. Participants will work in gouache in small sketchbooks from a series of photos of their recent travels, or places of interest. They will be instructed in simple ways to reduce their compositions to 4 or 5 major shapes. Brian will assist in identifying what elements are dominant in the student’s photo: shape, value or colour and how to adjust or modify what is in the reference photo to make a more interesting image.

Gouache paints will then be used as the medium of expression as the student paints in a sketchbook no bigger than 8 x 10 inches.The smaller format helps keep the composition reduced to its simplest form.

$225.00

Brian McPhee is a Canadian artist and graduate of the Ontario College Of Art and Design with over 35 years experience of painting landscape and figurative images. His work has been used commercially and appears in private collections throughout Canada, the U.S. and Europe.

Event Details
  • Days
    Hours
    Min
    Sec
  • Start Date
    June 3, 2024 10:30 AM
  • End Date
    June 17, 2024 12:30 PM
  • Status
    Upcoming
  • Location
  • Address
    278 Winslow Way E Suites 203 & 205, Bainbridge Island, WA 98110, United States
Photos
Event Details
  • Days
    Hours
    Min
    Sec
  • Start Date
    June 3, 2024 10:30 AM
  • End Date
    June 17, 2024 12:30 PM
  • Status
    Upcoming
  • Location
  • Address
    278 Winslow Way E Suites 203 & 205, Bainbridge Island, WA 98110, United States